Home Home Contact Contact Rooms Rooms Attractions Attractions Rates Rates Facilities Facilities Licenced since 1867
Proprietors: David and Cherry Jackson
Kojonup Commercial Hotel
Kojonup -Established 1837- Other places of interest to visitors are the Kojonup Spring and Picnic Area also in Rotary Park. Many dignitaries of the past, including the first governor of the Swan River Colony, Sir James Stirling, have slept by their camp-fire near the spring. Elverd's Cottage near the military barracks was built in the 1850 and is decorated with tools and implements from the early years. In 1999 the Kojonup Noongar community and the Shire of Kojonup committed themselves to the joint management of the area generally known as the Kojonup "Spring" and the preservation of the spiritual, cultural and historical significance of the "Spring" and surrounding land. Visitors are welcome to picnic at this unique historical site. Follow signs from Albany Highway .
Kojonup Springs
Historic Cottage -Built 1850- Around the corner from the Barracks (in Soldier Road) is Elverd’s Cottage which was built in 1854. The plaque outside explains that 'The original building was two rooms which were 14 ft by 13 ft built of stone, roofed with strong bound timber and well thatched.'The property was acquired by the Elverd Family in the 1880s and donated to the Historical Society. It now houses some interesting pieces of local memorabilia. There are no regular times of opening and people wanting to inspect the cottage should contact (08) 9831 1066  Name origin: Aboriginal - meaning 'the place of the kodja'. 'Kodja' is the word for stones which were used to make axes. Visitors can enjoy billy tea and damper made on a fire at a traditional Aboriginal camp-site, complete with lean-to.
Elvards Cottage
Jan Wandecla Picnic Races Oct/Nov Wandecla Polocrosse Weekend and Kojonup Show Sept/Oct Wildflower Festival and Cycling Classic
wildflower festival 29th Sept
Attractions around Kojonup Located amidst a thriving sheep farming and mixed agricultural district, Kojonup was first surveyed in 1837 as a military outpost for the protection of travellers and the mail. Settlement soon followed although early pastoralists had to overcome a great many problems before the area prospered. The worst of these being poison plants which threatened the livestock. These days the main industries in Kojonup are the Kojonup Abattoirs, light industrial engineering, Priors Bus and Coach Builders, sheep and cattle stud farms and a cattle selling complex. The military barracks, built in 1845 for the soldiers stationed in the area, still stands and has been converted into a museum. It is on the edge of Rotary Park, off Spring Street, and is open for inspection on Sunday afternoons. Kojonup region is known for its wild flowers, over 60 varieties of orchids are to be found along with leschenaultia and wattles. The Kojonup Flora Sanctuary is especially worth visiting in spring and Kojonup hosts the annual Country Wildflower Festival in September.